U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Federal Emergency Management Agency

Resource: Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT)–Mental Health Specialty
Category: Health & Medical (ESF #8)
Kind: Team
Minimum Capabilities (Component) Minimum Capabilities
Type I Type II Type III Type IV Other
Variable number of deploying personnel; includes medical providers with specialty training/skills in treating psychiatric patients (NOTE 1) Deployment readiness; Staffing; Training Status; Patient Treatment Capacity Deploy to site within 24 hours of notification with all necessary staff and equipment; Function for
72 hours in austere locations without resupply
Deploy to site within 24 hours of notification with all necessary staff; Function in existing facility using facility’s equipment and supplies (NOTE 2) Personnel roster only; May be less than full complement    
Shelters, Equipment, and Supplies Logistics Status Full complement Limited or none None    


Definition: A Mental Health Specialty DMAT is a volunteer group of medical and nonmedical individuals, usually from the same State or region of a State, who have formed a response team under the guidance of the National Disaster Medical System (or State or local auspices), and whose personnel have specific training/skills in the management of psychiatric patients.

NOTE 1: Usually includes a mix of physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician’s assistants, pharmacists, emergency medical technicians, other allied health professionals and support staff. Deployment rosters are usually constituted on an ad hoc basis, depending on situational need.

NOTE 2: Current NDMS mental health teams are Type II.


National Mutual Aid & Resource Management Initiatives
Health and Medical