U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Federal Emergency Management Agency

Resource: Disaster Medical Assistance Team (DMAT)–Crush Injury Specialty
Category: Health & Medical (ESF #8)
Kind: Team
Minimum Capabilities (Component) Minimum Capabilities
Type I Type II Type III Type IV Other
Variable number of personnel; includes medical providers with specialty training/skills in management of crush injuries. (NOTE 1) Deployment Readiness; Staffing; Equipment Status;Training Status; Patient Treatment Capacity Deploy to site within 24 hours of notification with all necessary staff and equipment; Function for
72 hours in austere locations without resupply.
Deploy to site within 24 hours of notification with all necessary staff; Function in existing facility using facility’s equipment and supplies. (NOTE 2) Personnel roster only; May be less than full complement.    
Shelters, Equipment, and Supplies Logistics Status Full complement Limited or none None    


Definition: A Crush Injury Specialty DMAT is a volunteer group of medical and nonmedical individuals, usually from the same State or region of a State, who have formed a response team under the guidance of the National Disaster Medical System (or State or local auspices), and whose personnel have specific training/skills in the management of crush injury patients.

NOTE 1: Usually includes a mix of physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician’s assistants, pharmacists, emergency medical technicians, other allied health professionals and support staff. Deployment rosters are usually constituted on an ad hoc basis, depending on situational need.

NOTE 2: Current NDMS crush injury teams are Type II.


National Mutual Aid & Resource Management Initiatives
Health and Medical